Live True, Be You – March

“Life is 10% of what happens to you and 90% how you react to it.” – Charles Swindoll

March is a “lucky” month! Many of you might think that success in life is all about luck. I think some luck is involved for those who are successful, but more than luck I think success depends a lot on your attitude.

I have been thinking lately about a story I read a few years ago. It was about an old married couple. The wife was always getting after her husband because when he brushed his teeth he left toothpaste splattered all over the mirror. Out of the things that bothered her about her husband, this was the one that drove her nuts. The story goes that her husband gets sick and passes away.  She is heartbroken. The first morning without her husband as she is brushing her teeth, she sees the usual splatter all over the mirror. She sadly thinks of her husband and how she will miss cleaning up his mess every day. The next morning she notices the splatter again. Thinking that she didn’t clean it up properly the day before, she cleans it up again. The third morning, she sees the splatter and it hits her: It wasn’t her husband that was making the mess all over the mirror, it was her.

This month I wanted to write about attitude. It’s been on my mind a lot lately.  So why would this story come to mind when thinking about attitude? Good question! Attitude covers so many different aspects of our life. The woman in the story had an attitude that turned into a belief about her husband. Can you imagine how she must have felt when the realization that her husband didn’t splatter the toothpaste hit her? How often do we have experiences in our lives that we go into with a certain attitude (usually a negative attitude) and it didn’t turn out well? If we took a step back and looked at the situation with a different attitude, would that situation be different? Would we attain different results?

Let me get personal for a minute. I am not a morning person – I never have been. I don’t wake up happy! In fact, it’s not in my natural make-up to feel happy the majority of the time. I really have to work on telling myself that I can feel happy. Some days this attitude works better then others, but I am trying. I keep asking myself the question: if I tell myself I feel happy when I wake up every morning, will I eventually feel happy? If I tried to have the attitude of someone happy all the time, would I end up being that person?

What do you all think? I would love to hear from you! Will you give me your thoughts please? You can write either here on the blog or on Facebook. We are here to learn from each other and I would love to learn from you.

My deepest wish is for us all to feel happy, to have the attitudes of the person we deep down want to be. I wish you love and happiness this month and hopefully some St. Patty’s Day luck!

XOXO,

 

 

Amanda

Owner/CEO

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Wow, this was a really inspirational post! I actually got teary-eyed reading that story.

    I am also someone who doesn’t wake up happy and to be honest I’m not sure why…I have a great husband, kids that I love and a fun job! I am not sure that you can just “fake it till you make it”. In my personal opinion, just because you look in the mirror and tell yourself you will be happy everyday doesn’t mean you will change into a different person. However, changing your attitude about certain things and having a positive outlook, like you mentioned, will definitely have a wonderful effect on your overall mood. It takes some work, but you CAN change the way you think about things…so even if you can’t completely change your deep-rooted feelings, you can choose to get rid of negativity and keep that sadness locked away!

    One thing that helps is keeping busy, which I know is not a problem for you! But you can’t just keep busy with work…you have to be out doing things you love and trying new things. Another thing I have noticed that helps is maintaining a proper diet and exercise routine, which is really hard for me to keep positive about!

    Everyone is different, but at least for me I think it is going to be a continuing struggle for the rest of my life (sorry to get all Churchy, but luckily we will all be genuinely happy once we are with our Heavenly Father). I do think happiness is truly something worth fighting for and I wish you the best of luck…sorry I just wrote a novel on your page!

    Reply
  2. Karen

     /  March 6, 2012

    I have many things in my life that are a miss right now, recent divorce, financial worries, raising kids alone, struggling self image, finding a few minutes to just paint my nails, overwhelming fatigue, keeping up on homework and children’s activities, staying on top of full time work duties, cleaning toilets before the all spots appear (lol) and more. In the midst of my rocky sea I try to seek for things to be grateful for. At times these are really simple, warm bed, food in my pantry, family who loves me and hugs from my sweet boys. The days that I take the time to actually acknowledge these blessings, are the days I find the most happiness. ~K

    Reply
  3. Leslie

     /  March 6, 2012

    Hi, I’m another person with Eeyore-ish tendencies, and I’ve found that taking a moment to list the things I’m grateful for, and thanking God for them, really diffuses negative feelings. Sometimes I start my list with my health, or a washing machine that works for me, or plenty of food, sometimes I focus on the realm of relationships, and sometimes I recall God’s help in my struggles and his patience with me. This leads me to return to a calm sense of trust and peace.

    Of course diet and exercise, and I’ll add rest and sunshine, certainly help!

    Thank you for giving us ladies a source for finding modest clothing and for sharing your ideas and heart with us.

    I wish you the best!

    Reply
  4. Diane Marie

     /  March 6, 2012

    I TOO HAVE TO WORK WITH MY MORNING GET UP TIME. I FIND THAT WHEN I THINK OF 5-10the THINGS TO APPRECIATE THEN I’ve got my energy running in a positive stream. ..how fun my granddaughter is, how soft and loving my dog is how gorgeous the colors of my daffodils are etc.

    Reply
  5. Love your blog post … very inspirational – we all need to keep the postitive energy flowing! I used to be really crabby in am’s and chronically exhausted until I discovered Goodnighties p.j’.s — you might want to try a pair. I loved them so much I joined the company (I know sounds like a corny cliche- but it’s true! 🙂 I also love your products and colors and like Goodnighties – MADE IN THE USA! YEAH! Amanda we should connect and share ‘tips’!
    SARAH
    sarah@goodnighties.com

    Reply
  6. Thank you for all of the wonderful comments so far! It makes me feel better that I’m not alone. Thank you for the encouragement and for being a part of our modbod family!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

